Convert Kilometers (km) to Nanometers (nm)

Please provide the values below to convert from Kilometer (km) to Nanometers (nm) and vice versa.

What is a Kilometer?

The Kilometre (SI symbol: km) is a unit of length in the metric system, equal to one thousand metres (kilo- being the SI prefix for 1000).

A kilometer is a metric system unit mainly used to express distance in most of the world; notable exceptions are the United States and the United Kingdom, where the mile is the unit used. Even though kilometers and miles are used for measuring the same unit (distance), the value differs.

What is a Nanometer?

The nanometre (SI symbol: nm) or nanometer (American spelling) is a unit of length in the metric system, equal to one billionth (short scale) of a meter (0.000000001 m).

The nanometre is often used to express dimensions on an atomic scale: the diameter of a helium atom, for example, is about 0.06 nm, and that of a ribosome is about 20 nm. The nanometre is also commonly used to specify the wavelength of electromagnetic radiation near the visible part of the spectrum: visible light ranges from around 400 to 700 nm.

How to Convert Kilometer to Nanometers?

To convert Kilometer to Nanometers, simply multiply the Kilometer value by 1000000000000.

The formula used to calculate Kilometer to Nanometers -

d(km) = d(nm) * 1000000000000

The distance d in Nanometers (nm) is equal to the distance d in Kilometers (km) multiplied by 1000000000000.

How many Nanometers in a Kilometer

In simple terms, 1 km is equal to 1000000000000 nm.

The formula used is 1*1000000000000 = 1000000000000(nm)

How many Kilometers in a Nanometer

1 Nanometer is equal to 1e-12 Kilometers. So we can also say that there are 1e-12 Kilometers in a Nanometer.

Kilometer to Nanometers Conversion Table

Kilometer (km)Nanometer (nm)
0.01 (km)
0.02 (km)
0.03 (km)
0.04 (km)
0.05 (km)
1 (km)
2 (km)
3 (km)
4 (km)
5 (km)
6 (km)
7 (km)
8 (km)
9 (km)
10 (km)
20 (km)
30 (km)
40 (km)
50 (km)
60 (km)
70 (km)
80 (km)
90 (km)
100 (km)
200 (km)
300 (km)
400 (km)
500 (km)
600 (km)
700 (km)
800 (km)
900 (km)
1000 (km)
5000 (km)
10000 (km)