Convert Nanometers (nm) to Kilometers (km)

Please provide the values below to convert from Nanometer (nm) to Kilometers (km) and vice versa.

What is a Nanometer?

The nanometre (SI symbol: nm) or nanometer (American spelling) is a unit of length in the metric system, equal to one billionth (short scale) of a meter (0.000000001 m).

The nanometre is often used to express dimensions on an atomic scale: the diameter of a helium atom, for example, is about 0.06 nm, and that of a ribosome is about 20 nm. The nanometre is also commonly used to specify the wavelength of electromagnetic radiation near the visible part of the spectrum: visible light ranges from around 400 to 700 nm.

What is a Kilometer?

The Kilometre (SI symbol: km) is a unit of length in the metric system, equal to one thousand metres (kilo- being the SI prefix for 1000).

A kilometer is a metric system unit mainly used to express distance in most of the world; notable exceptions are the United States and the United Kingdom, where the mile is the unit used. Even though kilometers and miles are used for measuring the same unit (distance), the value differs.

How to Convert Nanometer to Kilometers?

To convert Nanometer to Kilometers, simply divide the Nanometer value by 1000000000000.

The formula used to calculate Nanometer to Kilometers -

d(nm) = d(km) / 1000000000000

The distance d in Kilometers (km) is equal to the distance d in Nanometers (nm) divided by 1000000000000.

How many Kilometers in a Nanometer

In simple terms, 1 nm is equal to 1e-12 km.

The formula used is 1/1000000000000 = 1e-12(km)

How many Nanometers in a Kilometer

1 Kilometer is equal to 1000000000000 Nanometers. So we can also say that there are 1000000000000 Nanometers in a Kilometer.

Nanometer to Kilometers Conversion Table

Nanometer (nm)Kilometer (km)
0.01 (nm)
0.02 (nm)
0.03 (nm)
0.04 (nm)
0.05 (nm)
1 (nm)
2 (nm)
3 (nm)
4 (nm)
5 (nm)
6 (nm)
7 (nm)
8 (nm)
9 (nm)
10 (nm)
20 (nm)
30 (nm)
40 (nm)
50 (nm)
60 (nm)
70 (nm)
80 (nm)
90 (nm)
100 (nm)
200 (nm)
300 (nm)
400 (nm)
500 (nm)
600 (nm)
700 (nm)
800 (nm)
900 (nm)
1000 (nm)
5000 (nm)
10000 (nm)